Wed. Jul 24th, 2024

We’re back, traveling in time to May 2014 to take a look at the ads and the features inside RT Book Reviews magazine! Side trips include Say Yes to the Dress: Atlanta, the immortality of strange stock images on book covers, and the importance of alligator fritters in the marketing budget.

 

Read the transcript

↓ Press Play


https://open.acast.com/public/streams/62a7849004bdd200117465f3/episodes/651b09e194adc4001109065a.mp3

This podcast player may not work on Chrome and a different browser is suggested. More ways to listen →

Here are the books we discuss in this podcast:

You can watch Valerie Bowman’s episode of Say Yes to the Dress: Atlanta online! 

And of course, Anne Tenino’s X-Rated Crochet Gallery.

If you like the podcast, you can subscribe to our feed, or find us at iTunes, on Stitcher, or Spotify. We also have a cool page for the podcast on iTunes.

Thanks to our sponsors:

More ways to sponsor:

Sponsor us through Patreon! (What is Patreon?)

What did you think of today’s episode? Got ideas? Suggestions? You can talk to us on the blog entries for the podcast or talk to us on Facebook if that’s where you hang out online. You can email us at [email protected] or you can call and leave us a message at our Google voice number: 201-371-3272. Please don’t forget to give us a name and where you’re calling from so we can work your message into an upcoming podcast.

Thanks for listening!

Make the yuletide gay with IT’S A FABULOUS LIFE. This sapphic It’s a Wonderful Life retelling is filled with holiday cheer, angelic drag queens, adorable rescue dogs, and a little magic. It’s a sweet second chance rom-com Publishers Weekly calls “A goodie bag of romance tropes.”

Bailey George is ready to leave her small town behind on a long-awaited vacation to New York City. When the volunteer who took over the town’s Winter Wonderfest has a medical emergency, Bailey finds herself stuck there. Again.

Staying home seems slightly less terrible when Bailey runs into her high school crush, Maria Hatcher. Maria quickly offers to help with Winter Wonderfest. Her sunny disposition and holiday cheer perk up Bailey’s grinchy feelings about everything.

One disaster after another snowball on the day of the festival, and Bailey’s frustration boils over. Then she meets fabulous drag queen Clara Angel. Bailey declares she wishes she hadn’t been born in this Christmas-obsessed small town. With the magic Clara possesses, she shows Bailey how wrong she is. And that with a little hope and some holiday spirit, there is a way to attain all her dreams.

IT’S A FABULOUS LIFE is perfect for fans of Alison Cochrun and Ashley Herring Blake. Bestselling author Cat Sebastian calls it “Festive, heart-warming, and kind,” and Codi Hall says it “Breathes Christmas cheer straight into the reader’s heart. Christmas pop-culture fanatics will fall head over heels.”

Treat yourself to the gift of IT’S A FABULOUS LIFE, available now from Alcove Press in trade paperback, ebook and audiobook.

Transcript

Click to view the transcript

This podcast transcript was handcrafted with meticulous skill by Garlic Knitter. Many thanks.

Smart Podcast, Trashy Books is part of the Frolic Podcast Network. Find many more outstanding podcasts at Frolic.media/podcasts!

Checkout latest world news below links :
World News || Latest News || U.S. News

Source link

The post 585. May 2014 Ads & Features: Romantic Times Rewind appeared first on WorldNewsEra.

By

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.