Tue. Apr 16th, 2024

Manitoba’s official Opposition announced its shadow cabinet Tuesday.

On Monday, 22 members of the legislative assembly (MLA) were sworn into the Progressive Conservative caucus, and 34 into the New Democratic caucus.

Now, the PC members have been set on a mission, former premier and outgoing leader of the official Opposition, Heather Stefanson, said.

“I’m proud to announce and work with a strong and hard-working team ready to challenge Wab Kinew and hold the NDP to account,” she said.

Members of the shadow cabinet include:

Doyle Piwniuk (Turtle Mountain): Shadow Minister for Manitoba Public Insurance.

Wayne Ewasko (Lac du Bonnet): Shadow Minister for education and Early Childhood Learning;

Derek Johnson (Interlake-Gimli):Shadow Minister for Seniors and Long-Term Care;

Bob Lagassé (Dawson Trail): Shadow Minister for Mental Health, and shadow minister for Francophone Affairs;

Greg Nesbitt (Riding Mountain): Shadow Minister for Environment and Climate Change, and Shadow Minister for Efficiency Manitoba;

Jeff Wharton (Red River North): Shadow Minister for Economic Development, Investment and Trade;

Rick Wowchuk (Swan River): Shadow Minister for Natural Resources;

Josh Guenter (Borderland): Shadow Minister for Transportation and Infrastructure, and Shadow Minister for Consumer Protection and Government Services;

Obby Khan (Fort Whyte): Shadow Minister for Finance, and Shadow Minister for the Manitoba Public Service;

Wayne Balcaen (Brandon West): Shadow Minister for Justice;

Jeff Bereza (Portage la Prairie): Shadow Minister for Agriculture;

Jodie Byram (Agassiz): Shadow Minister for Labour and Immigration, and Shadow Minister for The Workers Compensation Board;

Kathleen Cook (Roblin): Shadow Minister for Health;

Carrie Hiebert (Morden-Winkler): Shadow Minister for Housing, Addictions and Homelessness;

Grant Jackson (Spruce Woods): Shadow Minister for Manitoba Hydro, and Shadow Minister for the Public Utilities Board;

Trending Now

He was a good boy: World’s oldest dog, Bobi, dies at 31

Off-duty pilot accused of trying to crash Alaska Airlines flight

Trevor King (Lakeside): Shadow Minister for Municipal and Northern Relations, and Shadow Minister for Indigenous Economic Development;

Konrad Narth (La Vérendrye): Shadow Minister for Sport, Culture, Heritage and Tourism, and Shadow Minister for Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries;

Richard Perchotte (Selkirk): Shadow Minister for Advanced Education and Training; and

Lauren Stone (Midland): Shadow Minister for Families, Shadow Minister for Accessibility, and Shadow Minister for Gender Equity.

The announcement comes almost one week after the NDP announced its cabinet of 15 on Oct. 18.

Story continues below advertisement

“I am proud of the team we have assembled to get real results for Manitobans on the issues that matter most,” said Premier Wab Kinew, citing health care and affordability.

Analyzing Manitoba’s new cabinet

&copy 2023 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Checkout latest world news below links :
World News || Latest News || U.S. News

Source link

The post Manitoba PCs announce shadow cabinet – Winnipeg | Globalnews.ca appeared first on WorldNewsEra.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.